Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Need help with Get XML Data

Default Need help with Get XML Data

Hi,
    I'm new to Kettle and can not accomplish what I want with an XML file as input. The sample XML is attached.

What I need is to create a table that will look like this
    StationName,latitude,longitude,observation_date_local_time,...
    Amqui,48.47,-67.43,2010-07-27T01:00:00.000 EST,...
    Aéroport d'Inukjuak,58.47,-78.08,2010-07-27T01:00:00.000 EST,...

I understand that I need to define the element tag as a loop. I defined the Loop X Path like this
    /om:ObservationCollection/om:member/om:Observation/om:metadata/set/identification-elements/element

I defined the fields like this
    NAMe, XPath,Element,Type
    name, name,Attribute, String
    value, value,Attribute, String

But this create one row per element.
    I would like one row per <identification-elements> and one field per element attribute in the loop.

Ouf, hope I'm clear....
    How should I manage this?
    thanks
    Steve
    Attached Files Attached Files

Hi Steve,

seems like the attached XML got broken.
    In my "Get data from XML" Step I get the following error message when clicking "get XPath Nodes":
    Error on line 1 of document file:///C:/Programme/Pentaho/data-integration/UTF-8 : The prefix "om" for element "om:ObservationCollection" is not bound. Nested exception: The prefix "om" for element "om:ObservationCollection" is not bound.

Could you please check the attached file?

Best regards,

Tom

Is there any way to get data into your XML so that you can tie all these rows together?

Something in the Observation or the set... You can then reference the fields against that, and be able to parse them together.

Otherwise, you would have to hope that the fields are always in the same order, and use a row flattener.
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

PDI user since PDI 3.1