Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Salesforce Integration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    8

    Question Salesforce Integration

    Hi All!

    I'm a brand new Kettle user, and so far I'm really excited to incorporate this tool into my work. Ultimately, I'm hoping to use it to sync up Salesforce tables with a Teradata data warehouse. I've had no issues syncing to Teradata (so far), but am having some trouble from the SF side.

    After putting in a SF input with my login credentials, and successfully testing the connection, I am unable to return any rows to preview.

    I get the following stack dump:

    Code:
     
     org.pentaho.di.core.exception.KettleException: 
    We failed to initialize at least one step.  Execution can not begin!
     
     at org.pentaho.di.trans.Trans.prepareExecution(Trans.java:737)
     at org.pentaho.di.ui.trans.dialog.TransPreviewProgressDialog.doPreview(TransPreviewProgressDialog.java:135)
     at org.pentaho.di.ui.trans.dialog.TransPreviewProgressDialog.access$000(TransPreviewProgressDialog.java:47)
     at org.pentaho.di.ui.trans.dialog.TransPreviewProgressDialog$1.run(TransPreviewProgressDialog.java:80)
     at org.eclipse.jface.operation.ModalContext$ModalContextThread.run(ModalContext.java:113)
    Has anyone else had this issue? Any ideas on how to fix it?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi,

    can you please tell us :

    - which version of PDI are you using

    Thanks

    Samatar
    Samatar

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Sorry...I'm using the 4.0.0 community version of Kettle in a Windows XP environement. I am running "spoon.bat".

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    So anyone have any ideas? I tried downloading the SF plugin and using that too, but it didn't work...

    Any suggestions on where I can start looking?

    Thanks in advance!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I found that you have to specify at least one valid field name in the Fields tab of the transform or I get the same error details that you are showing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    159

    Default

    I think Ross has it - I remember similar issue - if you hit "get fields" button prior to preview then you should get the full field set OK.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Ross and jbeal, thanks so much! It worked and off and running :-)

    Really appreciate the help!

  8. #8

    Default Salesforce integration with teradata

    Hi ,

    I am Neha Chaudhary working as Salesforce Developer . I have done Salesforce Integration with Java app and now looking for the way to connect Salesforce
    with teradata . I have no idea about this.

    Can you please provide me some steps that I need to follow in order to make teradata integration . If you can provide me some docs ,I would be very
    thankful .

    Regards,
    Neha













    Quote Originally Posted by acovato View Post
    Hi All!

    I'm a brand new Kettle user, and so far I'm really excited to incorporate this tool into my work. Ultimately, I'm hoping to use it to sync up Salesforce tables with a Teradata data warehouse. I've had no issues syncing to Teradata (so far), but am having some trouble from the SF side.

    After putting in a SF input with my login credentials, and successfully testing the connection, I am unable to return any rows to preview.

    I get the following stack dump:

    Code:
     
     org.pentaho.di.core.exception.KettleException: 
    We failed to initialize at least one step.  Execution can not begin!
     
     at org.pentaho.di.trans.Trans.prepareExecution(Trans.java:737)
     at org.pentaho.di.ui.trans.dialog.TransPreviewProgressDialog.doPreview(TransPreviewProgressDialog.java:135)
     at org.pentaho.di.ui.trans.dialog.TransPreviewProgressDialog.access$000(TransPreviewProgressDialog.java:47)
     at org.pentaho.di.ui.trans.dialog.TransPreviewProgressDialog$1.run(TransPreviewProgressDialog.java:80)
     at org.eclipse.jface.operation.ModalContext$ModalContextThread.run(ModalContext.java:113)
    Has anyone else had this issue? Any ideas on how to fix it?

    Thanks in advance!

  9. #9

    Default

    I am Sasikumar working as Teradata Developer . Can you please provide me some steps that I need to follow in order to make teradata integration with Pentaho (Need to know about how to connect pentaho with Teradata). If you can provide me some docs ,I would be very thankful .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.