Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Hive Connection on Windows - Configuration of Data Source with JDBC driver

Default Hive Connection on Windows - Configuration of Data Source with JDBC driver

Hello,

I am new to Pentaho. And I want to connect Pentaho to our Hadoop/Hive environment. I am using a Windows client. Can you please guide me on how to configure the connection?

We have our own JDBC driver to connect to Hive, which I want to use. (This driver works fine when used with SQuirrel SQL Client). I found Linux configuration on this site but there are no instructions for Windows:
    http://wiki.apache.org/hadoop/Hive/HiveJDBCInterface
    Do you know how to do this on Windows environment?

I would like to use all reporting and dashboard capabilities of Pentaho with our own data in the Hadoop/Hive environment.

Thanks in advance,

- firat gelbal

Hello Firat,

Thanks for posting. One of our presales engineers did a blog and video on how to define a connection in the BI Server that may help:

http://blog.pentaho.com/2010/07/23/p...s-even-easier/

If you want to use Pentaho Report Designer, you will need to:
    1) drop your JDBC driver into <install-dir>\report-designer\lib\jdbc before starting Report Designer
    2) when defining your connection, use the 'Generic database' option and manually provide your connection URL and the jdbc driver class name

Also, I'm pleased to share that we are wrapping up the first set of our own contributions to the HIVE JDBC driver to make it more compatible with the Pentaho BI Suite. As part of this, we have also added Hive as a selectable option in the connection dialog. Later this week I will be posting our cut of the driver with an updated drop of PDI so that you can test the integration with the common Connections dialog. You can follow the progress of the beta program, access downloads, etc by going to:

http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/EAI/...op+Integration