Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Database Lookup fails when null Values

Default Database Lookup fails when null Values

Hello,

I'm trying to do a database lookup but when I get null values, the database lookup does not return anything.

Is there any way to handle this?

Thanks

Lophophora

The only way to handle that would be filter your rows before they go to the DB lookup.
    You cannot look up "" and expect it to find something, unless you have "" in your DB to look up.

We might be able to provide a bit more help if you give us something more to work on.
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

What I'm Trying to do is simple;

I have this in the database;

Product
    | id | name | price | Size |
    | 1 | someProduct | 20 | null |

then I have this on the stream
    name="SomeProduct", price=20, Size = null

Then into a "Database Lookup" into the table product, it compares name, price and size and it has to return id=1, but instad it return id=null or the default value of the id configured in the "DB Lookup" step.

I need to compare eventhough values are null. Was I more clear?

Thanks

If the name, price, Size are your key, and you are looking up the ID, consider trying the Combination Lookup step instead.
    What you are trying *SHOULD* work (as I recall having done it), so perhaps if you turn up the logging level you can see what's going on.
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux