Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Loading related tables which have constraints?

Default Loading related tables which have constraints?

Newbie Here so be nice

I have a single spreadsheet source which I need to load into two tables one of which is required to exist for the second to insert the foreign reference. sponsor and rolodex where rolodex_id is the key in rolodex and the foreign key in sponsor.

I created a transform with a excel input which splits into two streams by selecting the necessary columns for each table including rolodex_id which is in both streams.

I need to assure that rolodex inserts first so sponsor insert will see the value and not fail due to the constraint that the rolodex value must exist.

I think I need to add a "Block this Step until steps finish" but not sure if that's correct. Can anyone help me determine the correct stream for this task.

You have two main options...

1) Use a Job
    Job steps are processed (in the usual configuration) in sequence, rather than in parallel. Transformation steps are processed in parallel.
    You would write two transforms: Populate rolodex and Populate Sponsor. This will ensure that rolodex is loaded first.

2) Set Transformation Transactional (terminology varies depends on version) in Transformation Settings.
    This will use a single connection to the database for the Transform, which means that rolodex entries and sponsor entries will be added at the same time, which the DB should allow, even with FK constraints.
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30