Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Why the trasformation doesn't write on the table?

Default Why the trasformation doesn't write on the table?

Hi all,
    I'm new with pentaho Data Integration (kettle) and I have a problem with my trasformation,
    afterwards the steps:

1) I generate a row with two values: "system_name" and "URL" ;
    2) I save the value of "system_name" into a variable (SYSTEM_NAME) ;
    3) I pass the URL to the HTTP Client connector ;
    4) I download the data from the HTTP Server and I write these on a txt file ;
    5) I try to read from the txt file ;
    6) I try to write the data, just read from the txt file, to a mysql table ;
    7) I try to update the mysql table using the variable previously memorized .

Running the trasformation it seems that the link between step 4) and 5) dosen't exist...why?

Thank for your support

Gabriele
    Attached Files Attached Files

Question Between the connectors "Text file input" and "Text file output"

In a trasformation, to link the two connectors "Text file input" and "Text file output", is necessary to use a particulat collector (job) ?

In the same trasformation I would like to read a txt file after its generation (I download a web content, I store the content in the txt file and than I try to read this file with the connector "Text file input"..all in the same trasformation...but it's seams impossibile!! )

Thanks for support

Gabriele

Hi, Gabriele.
    There are a couple of issues in your transformation:
    - you shouldn't use a variable in the same transformation that sets it.
    - there is no need to save to a file and read the file in order to parse the results of the service. You can parse the results right after the http step.
    - How does the result looks like? is it xml? is it json? Depending on the format, you have to parse the results in a different way. It's not just putting the name of the fields in a Text file input step.