Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tutorial: Using command line arguments with Kettle and scheduling

Default Tutorial: Using command line arguments with Kettle and scheduling

All,
    I put together a fairly detailed article on how to use command line arguments with Kettle to make your transformations and jobs more flexible. I also quickly describe scheduling. Please find the article here.
    Best regards,
    Diethard
    ===============
    Visit my Pentaho blog which offers some tutorials mainly on Kettle, Report Designer and Mondrian
    ===============

You've become one of my favourite bloggers. Nicely done.

Thanks a lot for your feedback! Much appreciated!
    Best regards,
    Diethard
    ===============
    Visit my Pentaho blog which offers some tutorials mainly on Kettle, Report Designer and Mondrian
    ===============

Hi Folks:

I'm new to Kettle. I am trying to figure out how to pass parameters into Spoon to do what you demonstrate in your example. I'm running under Windows, and I really don't understand the Unix side of things. Can you provide a simple example of how I would launch a Transformation from the command line in Windows? It would be greatly appreciated.

So far, this seems to be a very flexible program. I eventually want to run it on the Mac, but I have less reliable drivers available in that environment.

lsnover

The PAN and KITCHEN tools are used to run tranformation and jobs from the command line, irrespective of which OS you are on.

In its simplest form:
    pan.bat /file:"C:\some\dir\Transformation.ktr"
    will run a transformation, and
    kitchen.bat /file:"C:\some\dir\Job.kjb"
    will run a PDI job,

Crafter: