Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Report parameters : where is the mistake?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Report parameters : where is the mistake?

Hi to all,
    I'm trying to build my first report using pentaho reporting 3.7.0.GA under mac osx.
    I've written a parametric query
    Code:
    SELECT
    FROM
         "MyView" 
    WHERE
         F1 = '{F1}'
         and F2 = '{F2}'
         and F3 = '{F3}'
    ORDER BY
         F1 ASC
    Reading this documentation page (probably old one, but it's the only that i found), i expect that the report asks me about the parameters... but nothing happens...
    I putted the parameters in the report's header just to see if the report prints them, but when i publish and launch the report i obtain a blank page with the header like this:
    This is my parameter {F1} {F2} {F3}

i don't know where a made a mistake.
    Can you help me?

I'm new to Pentaho as well. I too have been struggling with the parameters. That being said, I believe that you need to add parameters to the query as follows: F1 = ${F1} and F2 = ${F2} and F3 = ${F3}. Give this a try and I hope it helps.

Parameter reference format should be: ${parameter-name}
    The SQL would then look like:
    SELECT
    FROM
    "MyView"
    WHERE
    F1 = ${F1}
    and F2 = ${F2}
    and F3 = ${F3}
    ORDER BY
    F1 ASC

nothing to do, it's the same... both the sintaxes seems to be correct, if i write '$F1' i get an error when i ask a preview... instead if i write '{F1}' or ${F1} i obtain an empty preview... but no parameters request...

I found the mistake.... the report designer version.. i update to 3.8.0 and it is working...

Hi,
    for my the good answer is :
    F1 = {F1} there are no < ' > for a parameter on SQL query

SELECT *
    FROM MyView
    WHERE
    F1 = {F1}
    and F2 = {F2}
    and F3 = {F3}
    ORDER BY
    F1 ASC