Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Public folders for dashboards

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    112

    Default Public folders for dashboards

    Hi. I've been bothering pmalves to give us a hint on how to make public folder to show dashboards without the need of login in in Pentaho. I solved this once using an "invisible login" using some javascript, but now I need to solve it in a cleaner way.
    Pedro told me to look on the spring security files, so I did so and figured out some things, but I still have some doubts.

    Followed some of the suggestions in http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/Serv...onymous+Access

    Also had to enable the security logging as instructed in http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/Serv...ging+2.x-3.0.x

    I still don't fully understand how the pentaho-solutions/system/applicationContext-spring-security.xml file works, but what I did works for me:
    First you have to find these lines
    Code:
    \A/getresource.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/admin.*\Z=Admin
    and in between ad some lines so it reads like
    Code:
    \A/getresource.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/pentaho-cdf.*solution.publicsolutionname.*path.*public.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/pentaho-cdf.*.js.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/pentaho-cdf.*.resources.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/pentaho-cdf.*.resource.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/cda/doquery.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/viewaction.*solution.publicsolutionname.*path.*public.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/admin.*\Z=Admin
    I have the feeling that I'm missing something or that my adjustments can be improved.
    Is it safe to to include the pentaho-cdf* js and resources the way I did? the same question for the cda/doquery...
    Is there a better way of enabling dashboards for a public view?
    I'll be thankful of any comment that helps to lighten up a bit on this.

    Best regards,
    José Ignacio Santa Cruz G.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    Thats basically it, and if you want finer control, you can add a specific solution to those regexps
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    The solution works for me. Remember to give the right share properties to the wcdf file and the folder.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hello community,

    I have a folder publicdemo where I have my dashboards (dashboard_1, dashboard_2,etc...). How to make public the dashboard ? I try and try, but without success...

    Thank you so much for your help.

    Edward

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    Keep trying and trying

    Comment 1 gave indications on how to do it. Putting acegi security logs to DEBUG in log4j helps a lot too
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hey pmalves. Thank you for your support ^^
    I will try and try again !

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    SOOOOOOOo I DID IT

    For help:


    \A/getresource.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/pentaho-cdf.*solution.publicsolutionname.*path.*public.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/pentaho-cdf.*.js.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/pentaho-cdf.*.resources.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/pentaho-cdf.*.resource.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/content/cda/doquery.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/viewaction.*solution.publicsolutionname.*path.*public.*\Z=Anonymous,Authenticated
    \A/admin.*\Z=Admin

    Where:

    publicsolutionname = the name of your solution, you can see it in url: pentaho/content/pentaho-cdf-dd/Render?solution=publicsolutionname&path=dashboard_1_public&file=test.wcdf

    *path.*public = the path of your dashboard in your solution. So it's a subfolder of your folder publicsolutioname. In this case, "*public" is a regex, so your accept every path which finish by "public". But you can write something like: "*path.my_subfolder" or "*path.dashboard_1_public".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Beware - your solution will also allow public access to:
    pentaho/content/pentaho-cdf-dd/Render?solution=publicsolutionname&path=dashboard_1_not-for-public&file=test.wcdf

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez View Post
    Beware - your solution will also allow public access to:
    pentaho/content/pentaho-cdf-dd/Render?solution=publicsolutionname&path=dashboard_1_not-for-public&file=test.wcdf
    but the access to the files contained in dashboard_1_not-for-public (i.e. test1.wcdf) depends on the specific permissions you have set for each of them

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mattepara View Post
    but the access to the files contained in dashboard_1_not-for-public (i.e. test1.wcdf) depends on the specific permissions you have set for each of them
    Don't be so sure.
    The ACL specifically allows anything matching the RegEx to Anonymous.
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

    PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

    Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

  11. #11

    Default

    Does the above method still works in Pentaho 5.0 CE ??

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dataguy12 View Post
    Does the above method still works in Pentaho 5.0 CE ??
    I highly doubt it - no "remove security" method from v4 works on v5... and I'm still struggling to remove security on v5... no solution presented so far (no even this one) worked for me =(
    Join us on IRC! =)

    Twitter / Google+ / Timezone: BRT-BRST
    BI Server & PDI 5.4 / MS SQL 2012 / Learning CDE & CTools
    Windows 8 64-bit / Java 7 (jdk1.8.0_75)

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez
    PLEASE NOTE: No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.

    I'm no expert.Take my comments at your own risk.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    hi I have all the setting defined in the pentaho.xml and application-spring security file as you have put. But my cda cannot be accessed by anonymous role though it works when I pass via url for authenticated role.
    Surprising everything was working perfectly and all of a sudden it stopped working on our production for anonymous role.
    Any help is much appreciated !! I am desperate ...

  14. #14

    Default

    Hi, is anyone have a clue how to make this work on Pentaho 6 CE?
    Everything is working OK except cda/doquery which throws 501 error everytime.
    PDI 5.3.0.0-213
    Win7 x64

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    230

    Default

    Hi. I am trying to make it work on Pentaho 8.0 but wasn't successful. I tried CDA only by adding this to applicationContext-spring-security.xml:

    <sec:intercept-url pattern="\A/plugin/cda/api/doquery.*\Z" access="Anonymous,Authenticated" />

    Any hint on this?

    Thx

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.