Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Using semi-additive measures (account balances) in Mondrian Cube

Default Using semi-additive measures (account balances) in Mondrian Cube

Hello,

I'm new to both Mondrian & MDX (but very familiar with SQL/ETL).

What I want to know if following possible using Mondrian or not. Here is a scenario:
    I've Time hierarchy with Year --> Quarter (does not go below that)
    I've Customer hierarchy with Country --> Customer (simplified for this example).
    I've closing account balances by quarters. Say Debit & Credit Balances. These are obviously semi-additive.

I want to be able to sum balances across Customer dim but only show the closing balance across Time dim. So if I choose "Canada and 2009", it should sum all closing balances for 2009 Q4 across all Canadian customers.

I think this probably will use ClosingPeriod() function to get 2009 Q4 but I was not sure from reading the forums that I can at the same time add across Customer dim.

Can this be coded with Mondrian? If so, is hand coding necessary or does the Pentaho Workbench help here? I'll have about 900 measures that behave like this.

Regards,
    Sean

Mondrian, like any other olap tool I know of, automatically aggregates (normally sums up) all dimensions of a cube that are not present in the query. So as long as you only select one quarter you should be fine.
    Markus Burger-Scheidlin
    ITGAIN Consulting GmbH Hannover, Germany

Quote Originally Posted by mburger View Post
    Mondrian, like any other olap tool I know of, automatically aggregates (normally sums up) all dimensions of a cube that are not present in the query. So as long as you only select one quarter you should be fine.