Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 35 of 35

Thread: pentaho bi server 3.10 and parent child hierarchies nor working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default pentaho bi server 3.10 and parent child hierarchies nor working

    hi all. I am testing bi server 3.10, and my parent child hierarchy stop working. in 3.8 is fine.
    i dont know if 3.9 has the same error... i have nullParentValue set to 0 and closure table.

    the stack trace is:

    12:04:00,301 INFO [STDOUT] 12:04:00,289 ERROR [RendererTag] trouble rendering table6b82852c-04ab-11e1-a79d-5732e71ea89f

    java.util.EmptyStackException
    at java.util.Stack.peek(Stack.java:85)
    at mondrian.server.Locus.peek(Locus.java:63)
    at mondrian.rolap.SqlMemberSource.getMemberChildren2(SqlMemberSource.java:902)
    at mondrian.rolap.SqlMemberSource.getMemberChildren(SqlMemberSource.java:830)
    at mondrian.rolap.SqlMemberSource.getMemberChildren(SqlMemberSource.java:804)
    at mondrian.rolap.SmartMemberReader.readMemberChildren(SmartMemberReader.java:247)
    at mondrian.rolap.SmartMemberReader.getMemberChildren(SmartMemberReader.java:210)

    any suggestions or clues?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Solved, change in jpivot code getSchemaReader() for getSchemaReader().withLocus()

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I'm having the same problem. Could you explain to me how you solved this in a bit more detail? What file am I looking for? Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Hi, i downloaded the jpivot source , mount it in eclipse, and then search all lines where getSchemaReader() is, and add withLocus method.
    files are in com.tonbeller.jpivot.mondrian

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I'm having the same problem. Thanks for the info - will try this tomorrow.
    This is also reported in jira:
    http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/BISER...nel#issue-tabs

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hi!

    could you please upload your .jar or other stuffs ?

    You know like if Pentaho was Open source.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Hi, here is the jar file i am using. i couldnt upload it with .jar extension, so use winrar and change file extension in order to use it.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Cool thanks ...

  9. #9

    Default

    Thanks a lot dduenas,
    Now it works like always!
    Two notes:
    1. On 3.9 it was OK, no errors reported.
    2. The file to be replaced (after renaiming the contet of the rar file to jpivot-1.8.0-100420.jar) is on \Pentaho\biserver-ce\tomcat\webapps\pentaho\WEB-INF\lib\
    _____
    Javier

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    245

    Default

    File a JIRA case with the change attached so that I can update the source tree and commit your change.

    S.
    Follow Me on Twitter: sramazzina
    My Skype account: sramazzina
    My Blog
    View my profile on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/sramazzina
    Author of Pentaho Data Integration Kitchen How-To and Pentaho Business Analytics Cookbook

    Join us on IRC server Freenode.net, channel ##pentaho ##saiku

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    245

    Default

    After applying your jar I've got this error in my BI Server 3.10

    ava.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/tonbeller/jpivot/tags/MondrianOlapModelTag
    at org.apache.jsp.jsp.Pivot_jsp._jspService(Pivot_jsp.java:853)
    at org.apache.jasper.runtime.HttpJspBase.service(HttpJspBase.java:70)
    at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:717)

    Did you changed something else?
    Follow Me on Twitter: sramazzina
    My Skype account: sramazzina
    My Blog
    View my profile on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/sramazzina
    Author of Pentaho Data Integration Kitchen How-To and Pentaho Business Analytics Cookbook

    Join us on IRC server Freenode.net, channel ##pentaho ##saiku

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Opps sorry I made a mistake... forget my last post. Everything works fine. I made everything too much in a hurry!
    Not a good thing switching off the brain while making the things :-)

    Thanks for your patch

    S.
    Follow Me on Twitter: sramazzina
    My Skype account: sramazzina
    My Blog
    View my profile on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/sramazzina
    Author of Pentaho Data Integration Kitchen How-To and Pentaho Business Analytics Cookbook

    Join us on IRC server Freenode.net, channel ##pentaho ##saiku

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    245

    Default

    @dduenas Your code works but it seems that your build doesn't incorporate the latest updates I made to JPivot more that one year ago about compound slicers support in Mondrian and that we committed at that time in the repository. Where did you get your code?

    S.
    Follow Me on Twitter: sramazzina
    My Skype account: sramazzina
    My Blog
    View my profile on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/sramazzina
    Author of Pentaho Data Integration Kitchen How-To and Pentaho Business Analytics Cookbook

    Join us on IRC server Freenode.net, channel ##pentaho ##saiku

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Hi you are right. I downloaded from sourceforge project page, not from repository, so this is not the last jpivot version.
    So all you have todo do is modify com.tonbeller.jpivot.mondrian and replace getSchemaReader() calls with getSchemaReader().withLocus() method.
    I cant upload my code because i am making some code changes and personalization for personal testing purposes and is not stable version....

    Thanks.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    The problem was not fixed yet... and i can't find the correct repository with de last version of the code, any ideas?
    Last edited by lucianovk; 11-18-2011 at 05:57 AM.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thank you for the solution!

  17. #17

    Default JPivot source

    So.. does anybody know where in the world is the latest version of JPivot source code (jpivot:1.8.0-100420) ?

    Thanks

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    245

    Default

    On JPivot CVS of course.

    S.
    Follow Me on Twitter: sramazzina
    My Skype account: sramazzina
    My Blog
    View my profile on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/sramazzina
    Author of Pentaho Data Integration Kitchen How-To and Pentaho Business Analytics Cookbook

    Join us on IRC server Freenode.net, channel ##pentaho ##saiku

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks dduenas!!
    Works like a charm. I've replaced the file and solved my problem!!

    Regards.

  20. #20

    Default Without loss of functionality

    Thanks @dduenas && @sramazzina.

    I`ve downloaded the HEAD version from JPivot CVS and re-generated the jar with dduenas sugestions. It seems to work now =)

    jpivot-1.8.0-100420.jar.zip
    Just remove the .zip part at the end of the filename, on this attachment.


    Or else, direct download from http://oncase.com.br/jpivot-1.8.0-100420.jar

    Marcello Pontes

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Good work Marcello - thumbs up!

  22. #22

    Default

    Hey, That sounds great but the jira report is still open.
    Can you post your notes there too!
    Thanks for the code fix

  23. #23

    Default

    I am trying out the mondrian-3.3.0.14703-embedded webapp on tomcat 5.5 with Java 1.6 and I still get these errors when I try to select members after clicking the cube icon.

    [JPivot] 10 Jan 2012 09:23:16,234 ERROR [Session 03942E0F40A61347162DC127D61AB303] com.tonbeller.wcf
    .controller.RequestFilter$MyHandler#handleException: exeption
    java.util.EmptyStackException
    at java.util.Stack.peek(Stack.java:79)
    at mondrian.server.Locus.peek(Locus.java:63)
    at mondrian.rolap.SqlMemberSource.getMemberChildren2(SqlMemberSource.java:902)
    at mondrian.rolap.SqlMemberSource.getMemberChildren(SqlMemberSource.java:830)

    Any thoughts as to what might be a way to solve this?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I have tried jpivot-1.8.0-100420.jar on Mondrian 3.3.0.14703 and it does not fix the problem.
    The java.util.EmptyStackException gets hit only when you select dimension in Navigator that is not expanded in pivot table or try to expand it to the level that is not shown in pivot table. Othervise it works ok, but it is not fully useful.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    One more thing: this does not happen with XMLA interface.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Ok, the issue IS fixed but I forgot to extract jar contents under $CATALINA_HOME/webapps/mondrian/WEB-INF/classes (/com/tonbeller/jpivot)
    I also used version jpivot-1.8.0-111228.jar from here

    http://repository.pentaho.org/artifa.../1.8.0-111228/

    So it works

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for the solution! I spend a lot of time with this issue =D

  28. #28

    Default

    Hey, how are you? I think I may be having a problem similar to you. I cannot expand to filter with the OLAP navigator. I was trying to see if I could do what you have mentioned here but I am having a little problem:

    You give this directory: $CATALINA_HOME/webapps/mondrian/WEB-INF/classes . I can't find that but I do have that under:

    C:\biserver-ce\tomcat\webapps\mondrian\WEB-INF\classes

    Do you think that would work?? I put it there but am still getting the error. Did this happen to you?

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    This is correct directory. $CATALINA_HOME is environment variable pointing to tomcat home directory.
    Did you restart tomcat afterwards? Check "bin" directory under your tomcat home directory for startup/shutdown scripts.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thumb up! I have solved the problem in Jpivot+Mondrian3.4 with "jpivot-1.8.0-100420.jar".Thanks!

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dduenas View Post
    Solved, change in jpivot code getSchemaReader() for getSchemaReader().withLocus()
    which class in jpivot???

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    could you tell me which class of getSchemaReader() MondrianModel???

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hi all:

    I've been upgrading an xmla webapp working with mondrian 3.2. I've replaced mondrian.jar to 3.5 version, and also the required libraries included in the latest mondrian.war in order to get mondrian working.

    Also, I'm using the last version of jpivot from jpivot.cvs.sourceforge.net with the "withLocus()" corrections applied to getSchemaReader invocations. I have some modifications done in jpivot (mainly templates), so I'm working with source code and not with jars. Everything builds perfectly, but I'm getting the java.util.EmptyStackException error when I try to query a test cube which works perfectly in mondrian 3.2.

    I've checked that no other getSchemaReader() invocations are taking place further than those within jpivot source code. Also, I'm using the XmlaServlet declaration found in the web.xml supplied with mondrian.war.

    Perhaps I'm missing any other changes in order to get rid of this error? Any clues?

    Thanks in advance

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    OK, I've found the problem. My schema has dimensions defined as follows:

    <Dimension type="TimeDimension" highCardinality="false" name="month" caption="Month">
    <Hierarchy name="months" hasAll="false" primaryKey="ID" caption="Months">
    <Table name="time" schema="schema" />
    <Level name="year" column="year" type="Integer" uniqueMembers="false" levelType="TimeYears" hideMemberIf="Never" caption="Year" />
    <Level name="month" column="month_desc" ordinalColumn="mes" type="String" uniqueMembers="false" levelType="TimeMonths" hideMemberIf="Never" caption="Month" />
    </Hierarchy>
    </Dimension>

    If attribute defaultMember for hasAll="false" is not specified, java.util.EmptyStackException error occurs. With hasAll="true", the cube works perfectly. There are many dimensions with hasAll="false" and without defaultMembers attribute filled in my schema, so I have to modify all of them adding this field in order to get it working. This was not necessary with Mondrian 3.2.

    Do you think this could be an issue and should I open it in JIRA?

    Thanks again

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Correct diagnostis and solution can be found here:

    http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/MONDRIAN-1353

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.