Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: MQL Query in Report Designer for Order By

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default MQL Query in Report Designer for Order By

    Hi All,

    I am using Pentaho Enterpise Edition 3.8.

    We are creating prpt report based on the Metadata Model. In MQL Query for ORDER BY

    the default is

    <orders>
    <order>
    <direction>asc</direction>
    <view_id>Business View ID</view_id>
    <column_id>Business Column ID</column_id>
    </order>
    </orders>


    But in one of the thread it was said we can use table_id tag instead of view_id. And so i tried as below


    <orders>
    <order>
    <direction>desc</direction>
    <table_id>Business Table ID</table_id>
    <column_id>Business Column ID</column_id>
    </order>
    </orders>

    But this is not working in this case. Even direction is DESC , it is not considering the order clause itself. It shows data as it is is DB.



    I am changin view_id to table_id for the following reason.

    The metadata model is security enabled.

    We provided Execute access to the Model and no acess to business views. This is because users can access the canned reports created based on the model and to restrict them to create Ad Hoc reports in the User Console.


    Thanks... MK

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    337

    Default

    An extract from Pentaho's security guide:

    1. Start Metadata Editor and open the metadata model you want to restrict.
    2. Right-click on the business model, then select Edit from the context menu.
    The Business Model Properties window will appear.
    3. Click the round green + icon to add a new custom property.
    The Add New Property window will appear.
    4. Click Add a custom property, then type visible in the ID field and select String from the Type drop-down box, then
    click OK.
    You'll return to the Business Model Properties window.
    5. Scroll down to the bottom of the window to see the Value field. Type in one or more of the following restriction
    values, separated by commas, then click OK:
    • adhoc: removes the model from the list in ad hoc reporting
    • dashboard-filters: prevents this model from appearing in dashboard filters that use metadata queries
    • dashboard-content: prevents this model from being used in dashboard panels
    • interactive-reporting: removes the model from the list in Interactive Reporting
    Regards,
    Madhu

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi Madhu,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I tried steps you have mentioned.. But still i able to see the Metadata Model in the User console.


    visible property:

    value = adhoc,dashboard-filters, dashboard-content,interactive-reporting


    this is how i specified in the value field for the Model.


    Kindly help on this.

    Thanks... MK

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    337

    Default

    oops! did you try leaving it blank! that shud hide it everywhere... as per the books atleast!
    Regards,
    Madhu

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi Madhu,

    I tried leaving it blank also..

    It dint work. Can u help me providing the URL where i can access Pentaho Security Guide.


    Thanks... MK

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    337

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.