Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: deleting and disabling a hop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    28

    Default deleting and disabling a hop

    Hi,

    I got some questions about Kettle 4.2 as follows.

    1. how to delete a hop between two Kettle steps?
    2. what is the difference between disabling and deleting a hop?

    Your help is highly appreciated.

    Ey-Chih

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5,534

    Default

    You should find the action "Delete hop" in the context menu of each hop.
    A hop is also deleted, when detaching the target step.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Thanks. How to get the context menu? The issue with detaching the target step is that we have many steps if we detach one of them, the system will automatically connect the prior step to the subsequent step.


    Ey-Chih Chow

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5,534

    Default

    Take good aim and right click on the hop line...
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marabu View Post
    Take good aim and right click on the hop line...
    I did a right click the hop line and the hop was disabled, but no context menu was shown up. Any other way I can try? Thanks.

    By the way, my environment is MacBook Pro.

    Ey-Chih Chow
    Last edited by eychih; 07-18-2012 at 04:26 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5,534

    Default

    On a MacBook, traditionally you hold down the control key while left clicking, to access the context menu.

    A modern MacBook can be configured to recognize the right click, though.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marabu View Post
    On a MacBook, traditionally you hold down the control key while left clicking, to access the context menu.

    A modern MacBook can be configured to recognize the right click, though.

    I tried holding down the control key while left clicking, but not working. This can only disable the hop.

    Ey-Chih Chow

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5,534

    Default

    I don't have access to a MacBook, so I'm not very efficient in helping you.
    When browsing through Jira I learned of problems PDI has/had on the Mac & Mouse front, though:

    http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI-1760

    Maybe, someone with a MacBook can better address your problem.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marabu View Post
    I don't have access to a MacBook, so I'm not very efficient in helping you.
    When browsing through Jira I learned of problems PDI has/had on the Mac & Mouse front, though:

    http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI-1760

    Maybe, someone with a MacBook can better address your problem.
    I actually I got the a way to delete a hop from the Jira you mention, quoted as follows:

    ".... you can do the same thing on a hop on the left hand side of spoon where you find all hops/steps in use in the current transformation."


    Ey-Chih Chow

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.