Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to get substrings in file names to use after

Default How to get substrings in file names to use after

Hello,
    I am new to Pentaho and need your help. I would like to extract a couple of substrings from each file_name of a list found in a directory and store those strings somewhere (a variable using set_variables?) in order to be able to use them after (for example to create dir and subdir based on the two strings). Work can be done recursively for each file, once per filename...
    I am reading around and also testing small jobs and transformation to learn more and more about Spoon and Pentaho in general, but it takes time. In the mean time I would appreciate any direction/hint that could help me set up properly "the flow".

Many thanks,
    Gabriele

Hi Gabriele.
    Create a job with:
    A.
    Transformation 1:
    step "Get file names" then step "Modified java Script Value" to create substrings (or you can use Calculator or String Cuts) and then use "Set variables".

B.
    Job (look at the options and check run for each row)
    Within this job create a transformation and use "Get variables" and then any other steps that you need.

Mick

Hi Mick,
    thank you for your answer/help!

Best regards,
    Gabriele

Quote Originally Posted by Mick_data View Post
    Hi Gabriele.
    Create a job with:
    A.
    Transformation 1:
    step "Get file names" then step "Modified java Script Value" to create substrings (or you can use Calculator or String Cuts) and then use "Set variables".

B.
    Job (look at the options and check run for each row)
    Within this job create a transformation and use "Get variables" and then any other steps that you need.

Mick

Hi Mick,
    sorry I probably need more details/help. First is it correct that also the nested jobs must start with the "START" step? Then, is my understanding correct:

Main job: