Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Connect Spoon from desktop to PDI installed linux server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    11

    Post Connect Spoon from desktop to PDI installed linux server

    Hi

    I have installed PDI on my linux server (master) and want to connect to server from my desktop by using spoon.
    Please suggest me the process to connect.

    Thanks in advance.

    Sachin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    609

    Default

    Hi and welcome to the PDI community,

    first of all: What kind of repository do you use? File-based or database?
    This has great influence of what kind of approach you might follow.

    Anyway: What do you want to achive with your setup?
    Execute transformations on the remote linux box? Then you might want to start a "carte"-slave on the linux-box and access it from your desktop.
    (you might want to look at: http://diethardsteiner.blogspot.de/2...on-remote.html for details)

    If this does not answer your question: Provide details on what you want to do

    Cheers,

    Tom

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks Tom,

    Installed PDI & PDI Server on Master(linux). Installed PDI on slave(linux)
    Now I want to run Spoon from my desktop which connects to slave. Time being I want to use file to file transformation.
    Please help me to configure desktop-server connectivity ?

    Thanks,
    Sachin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    609

    Default

    Hi,

    [X] you did not read the link in my post, did you?

    What do you mean by "file to file transformation"? e.g. read a CSV file and transform it into another format or outputting it as XML?

    Cheers,

    Tom

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hi Tom,
    Thanks
    Tried those steps and no help.
    Spoon is installed on my desktop and want to connect to server where PDI is installed.
    Any changes required in spoon.bat file ?
    Spoon should route to sever ip/hostname for this what changes I need to do ?

    thanks,
    Sachin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    609

    Default

    Hi Sachin,

    I think you did not get the concepts of PDI correctly so far.
    Let me try to explain:

    With spoon, you are able to define your ETL-routines (transformations and jobs).
    Once defined, you may:
    - run them on a remote machine (carte-server)
    - run them "locally" by executing them with pan/kitchen

    "Locally" may be a bit misleading as this can also mean that you execute pan/kitchen on a remote machine (e.g. by cronjob or batch-files)


    Another interesting point might be:
    Where are the files (jobs/transformations) stored.

    PDI names this "storage" a "repository" which can either be a file-repository (basically: just a bunch of folders and sub-folders with files) or a database-repository.

    Both repositories seem to have advantages and disadvantages:

    File-Repo:
    + easy accessible
    + pretty easy to put into a third-party version-control system (github, SVN, CVS etc.)
    - a bit harder to share between machines (unless you are using a version-control system or any other additional means of transferring files)

    Database-Repo:
    + centralized
    + usually already in a backup-cycle
    - not that easy to add to a version-control system (sure, the dump might be version-controlled, but not each single transformation/job)


    Having learned this, I repeat my question:
    What exactly do you want to do?

    Create a transformation and make your linux box execute it?
    Then define the transformation on your machine, copy it to the linux-box and use pan to run it.
    or:
    Start the carte-server on the linux-box, add a slave-server to your local Spoon and then send the transformation to the slave.

    Cheers,

    Tom

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    11

    Smile Issue resolved

    Thanks for replies.
    Issue solved followed below steps.
    Created Repository(Enterprise repository option) which connects to remote server address (http://hostnameortnum/PDI..)
    Logged into by selecting repository

    Cheers,
    Sachin

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.